Blog Diet Tip #22: The Elliptical

Nordic Track Elite 1300 Elliptical Machine

Sure, you could do the recumbent bike, or the treadmill, but nothing says welcome to exercising in the 21st Century quite like a fancy elliptical machine. I used to swear by the treadmill, but I’ve seen the light. The elliptical can give you a great workout – meaning you are covered in sweat – without the concomitant joint pain.

The gym I go to has four different kinds of ellipticals (and stair machine hybrid thingy’s) but I really like the Nordic Track 1300 (pictured above). It’s solid, not overly generous nor overly stingy with the calorie readout, and the interface is straightforward and easy to use. I tried using a Life Fitness but gave up in frustration – the computer made as much sense as Soviet era economic policy and the stupid thing kept on prompting me to “put my hands on the sensors” like a possessed Volvo nagging you to put a seatbelt on.

Also, thanks to a certain Rocky Mountain Man, I know prodigious use of the elliptical works. Plus, it looks sort of cool, not like the hamster wheel-like treadmill.

My Routine: A do an hour. Right now I am aiming to hit the 1000 calorie/hour mark that RMG set. I’m at around a little over 800 on average. Yeah, I know those calorie measurements don’t mean shit. That’s not the point. The point is that it’s a goal that you shoot for. Do distance if that’s floats your boat. All I know is that you have to sweat. If you aren’t sweating, you aren’t really burning any calories. And by the end of doing “800” calories I am drenched. For now. That’s why I am pushing myself to reach the bar that RMG set so high, so I can keep on sweating and hopefully lose the kind of weight he did.

P.S. – You don’t have to use the elliptical. Do what works for you. On the weekends I don’t use the elliptical. Instead I lay down some cardboard, put down a boom box, and kick it old school in a subway station burning calories and earning props and cash.

No, not really. I just go running in the park.

Leave a Reply

